NSC on facebookNSC on twitterNSC RSS news feed

Latin America and the Caribbean declared a region of peace

News from Nicaragua | Friday, 7 February 2014 |

The Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC), formed in 2009, is made up of all the states of the Western Hemisphere except the US and Canada. Peace, the struggle against poverty, and regional unity were the main themes of the CELAC summit of 33 heads of state and government at a meeting in Havana on 25th and 26th January. They were joined by UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon and Jose Miguel Insulza, secretary general of the Organisation of American States (OAS).

The summit held a minute’s silence for the late president of Venezuela, Hugo Chavez. They went on to declare the region as a zone of peace and solidified agreements in the socio-economic, security, and energy areas.

In his summit speech, Nicaraguan President Daniel Ortega said that among Latin American countries there was still lacking the spirit of solidarity and complementarity necessary for the poorest countries to join the more developed Latin American countries as full economic subjects. When fuller integration is achieved, he said, “The result will be that, as we eliminate asymmetries, we will have a more dynamic market in the entire region.”